lookichecks.blogg.se

Tad williams otherland appropriate kids
Tad williams otherland appropriate kids









tad williams otherland appropriate kids

Question: Your first novel, Tailcatcher’s Song, is going to be an animated film. (This didn’t stop me losing your first set of interview answers, though.) I am a big believer at getting the process out of the way of the thinking, so computers and Tad were a natural fit.

tad williams otherland appropriate kids

I can’t imagine going back to typing, and computers are a huge help with complicated books, because you can search so easily. I got one of the early Macs when I was writing DRAGONBONE CHAIR, and in fact later went to work at Apple at the end of the ’80s, my last “normal” job. How has the internet, better computers and etc impacted your writing, if at all? Since then, technology is advanced quite a bit. Question: Your first book was released in 1985. You can connect with Tad on his website, through Twitter and Facebook. Tad and his wife, Deborah Beale, live in the San Francisco Bay Area with their children and far more cats, dogs, turtles, pet ants and banana slugs than they can count. He is co-founder of an interactive television company, and is currently writing comic books and film and television scripts as well as novels. He also hosted a syndicated radio show for ten years, worked in theater and television production, taught both grade-school and college classes, and worked in multimedia for a major computer firm. Tad Williams has held more jobs than any sane person should admit to-singing in a band, selling shoes, managing a financial institution, throwing newspapers, and designing military manuals, to name just a few. (I nabbed this picture off of Goodreads). That probably says more about him and his career than I ever could. I honestly have yet to run across someone who reads speculative fiction who doesn’t at least know who Tad is.

tad williams otherland appropriate kids

His books are top notch, and his fans and following keeps growing. When it’s all said and done, Tad is a hell of a nice guy, with a successful career most people envy. What can you possibly ask someone who has written tons of incredibly loved books and done more interviews than I could shake a stick at? When it came down to the wire, I decided I just had to ask him whatever I felt like asking. It took me quite a while to think of questions, because Tad has such a long, prolific, iconic writing career. Well, when Deborah emailed me back and said that I could interview Tad, I literally called my husband and screamed into the phone, “I’M INTERVIEWING TAD-EFFING-WILLIAMS!” before I emailed Deborah back with a thank you and holy-crap-I’m-so-excited letter. He’s one of the first authors I read in speculative fiction, and one of the first I fully enjoyed. Tad Williams is one of my all time favorite authors. Then, I decided I better grow a pair and ask if I could interview the man himself. When Tad’s lovely and wonderful wife Deborah approached me about reviewing The Dirty Streets of Heaven, I was thrilled.











Tad williams otherland appropriate kids